Share/BookmarkBritish BlogsSeed Newsvine

Rap music artist EvOn will be performing at London LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender and Queer) art festival GFEST in November 2011. GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 performances will take place at The Cockpit (Theatre), Gateforth Street, Marylebone, London, NW8 8EH on Thus 17,  Fri 18  and Sat 19 Nov at 7.30 PM  / Online: http://www.wegottickets.com/f/2991

GFEST is recognised as ‘London’s LGBTQ art fest for all’.  GFEST 2011 dates: 7 to 20 November

Full 2011 programme info & booking on: http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk

A chat with EvOn about her work and her practice:

EvOn

How do you see your own music ?
I see my music as a way to relate to others in the lgbt community through personal emotions and beliefs.

How would you describe your own practice?
I’d describe my practice as laid back and free flowing. I get to do my thing, hear myself and get needed feedback.

Are there any external factors that help you creatively?
There’s nothing specific that helps me creatively; It’s the world around me that I see and affects me that inspires me to write what I do and flow how I do.

How do you look at reinventing yourself or reflect progression in your work?
I do not consider it reinventing myself but being consistently inconsistent I’m forever changing my style and my flow but always evolving with Hip-hop.

What are the most important themes and elements that feed into your creativity?
Real life is the theme that feeds into my creativity. As well as writing being my therapy. The things I hear, see and feel are all elements that help me creatively.

Can you describe the creative process behind the work and how it works for you?
I write my own lyrics and I make beats which allows me to mesh what I want together. I can easily take my lyrics know how I want to hear them on a track or even rapping to a crowd.

How would you like yourself or your work to be known?
I’d like myself and my music to be revolutionary.

Any single wish?
To be financially free so I’m able to take care of my family comfortably.

Thank you EvOn and best wishes from GFEST team.

For more information on GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 please contact: Subodh Rathod, Wise Thoughts / GFEST – Gaywise FESTival
Tel: 020 8889 9555
info@wisethoughts.org
http://www.wisethoughts.org     &    http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk