Beldan Sezen is invited to exhibit her graphic illustrations series ‘Homœ’ at GFEST – Gaywise FESTival Visual Arts Exhibition: ‘Riot of Colours’. All GFEST 2013 events will be at Bernie Grant Arts Centre in Tottenham, London from 7 to 9 November.

The festival is recognised as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer and Intersex (LGBTQI) cross-art event in London. GFEST 2013 programme includes films, music performance acts, visual art exhibition, workshops as well as parties.

Full programme details are on : http://gaywisefestival.org.uk/

We talked to Beldan to find her views and reasons for participating in the LGBTQI art festival.

What are you working on these days?

beldancloseup Finishing my graphic memoir “Snapshots of A Girl”. Like, right now, I’m finishing the translation into Italian of the last two chapters of the book, which will be published in Italy this November.

How would you describe your own work or practice?

It’s part of my life and daily routine.

Can you outline your reasons to participate in GFEST 2013?

Having been invited to participate in GFEST in the past, I very much appreciate the work and efforts of the GFEST orgnisers (Niranjan Kamatkar and Subodh Rathod). I share their vision of promoting queer arts.

Do you think events like GFEST are still necessary?

It’s a very supportive event. Definitely has been for me, as an emerging artist and, I can imagine, as well for the community by being a regular part of London’s cultural scene for the past five/six years. It takes time to manifest something. I believe GFEST has “just started” and I am looking forward to how it will be in, let’s say,  ten years from now.

How would you like your work or yourself to be remembered as?

Hm, never thought about this. Well, my work as something like a memory pill. To remember a moment or feeling when you look at my drawings or read my comics. As for my self, gee, I really don’t know.

Any single wish?

Right now? Coffee.

Thanks and best wishes Beldan, from GFEST 2013 team.

