Share/BookmarkBritish BlogsSeed Newsvine

Jason Bradbury’s film ‘We Once Were Tide’ will be shown at GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 Film Screenings.  For GFEST 2011 film programme info please visit:  http://gaywisefestival.org.uk/filmscreening.php

GFEST 2011 Short Film Screenings will take place at Prince Charles Cinema, 7 Leicester Place, London WC2H 7BY on Tues 8 / Wed 9 / Thus 10 Nov at 7.15 pm / Box Office: 020 74943654 /  Online: http://princecharlescinema.com

We talked to Jason to find out more about the filmmaker and his film:

Jason Bradbury

How do you see your own film or film work?

The main theme of ‘We Once Were Tide’ is the loss of something special and the nature of love being that you have to give everything up – often the thing that matters the most.

I grew up on the Isle of Wight and knowing I was gay from a young age, I found the experience of living there very oppressive. I then tried to imagine what it would have been like if I had no choice but to stay (as with Anthony looking after his mother) and what’s more, what if I had the opportunity to leave – but had to turn it down. This is where the original idea came from. I also wanted a chance to explore a moment in time, a tiny segment in Anthony and Kyle’s life, but examine it in a lot of detail.

How would you describe your own filmmaking process?

I work in a very collaborative way. It’s what excites me the most: the process of making a film, coming up with ideas and developing them, working with a team towards a common goal is such a rewarding process. I like to work with people that understand my vision and share similar outlooks on the world in general. The process of making a film is so testing sometimes and especially at the low-budget level, where people aren’t getting paid – getting on and being able to feel like you are achieving something is crucial.

A still from 'We Once Were Tide'

Are there any external factors that help you creatively?

I spend a lot of time on the internet, in my own time and at work. This means that I’m constantly subjected and actively looking for images on blogs for example – I like to collect images that I find and refer back to them when I am stuck for ideas or inspiration. I often use a single image to inspire a narrative, or string a few unrelated images together in a story.
How do you look at reinventing yourself or work on reflecting progression in your work?

I would hope there is a natural progression with every new piece of work I create. I don’t think it’s a conscious reinvention every time. Sure, you have to consider that you are not replicating past work, but that’s as far as I go. I think that as we go through life it is inevitable that each piece of work will build upon experiences of the last.
What are the most important themes and elements that feed into your creativity?

I guess there are a few common elements within my films, one of them is using a lot of subtleties in my work; minute gestures that carry with them a lot of emotional weight. I also don’t like dialogue very much. I find things most interesting when they are not said.
How would you like yourself or your work to be known?

My only hope is that my work speaks to people and connects with a wide audience, regardless of gender, class, age, sexual orientation and so on. I am proud of who I am and where I have come from but don’t only want to speak to people like me. I make films to tell stories and if I can change the way people see the world along with that, great !
Any single wish?

To make a film with some funding (no budget film making is soooo exhausting!)

Many thanks Jason and best wishes from GFEST team.

For more information on GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 please contact: Subodh Rathod, Wise Thoughts / GFEST – Gaywise FESTival
Tel: 020 8889 9555
info@wisethoughts.org
http://www.wisethoughts.org / http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk

