Share/BookmarkBritish BlogsSeed Newsvine

Film Director Craig Boreham’s DROWNING is selected to be screened at GFEST 2011 Film Screenings. GFEST 2011 Short Film Screenings will take place at Prince Charles Cinema, 7 Leicester Place, London WC2H 7BY on Tues 8 / Wed 9 / Thus 10 Nov at 7.15 pm / Box Office: 020 74943654 /  Online: http://princecharlescinema.com

For GFEST 2011 film programme info please visit: http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk/filmscreening.php

We asked Craig about the film, filmmaking process and creativity in general.

Craig Boreham - director of DROWNING

How do you see your own film or film work? 
My films are described a lot as gay or queer but I guess when I’m making them.  I am not really thinking about it in those terms – so much as – trying to tell a story that I am interested in telling. Having said that, sexuality is very much a recurring theme in my work, I guess, mainly because I find stories about sexuality and relationships really interesting because there is so much to explore dramatically.

How would you describe your own filmmaking process? 
It’s very collaborative. I love spending a lot of time working with actors even when I am still writing. It’s great to be able to play with scenes that are still in development and watch it all come together organically. Same across most of the departments. I am lucky to work with some great cinematographers who also enjoy spending a lot of time fleshing out the visual style and tone that will suit a story.
Are there any external factors that help you creatively?
Smoking a lot of cigarettes… Actually I’ve given that up. Inspiration comes from all over. Sometimes it’s people, or a piece of theatre or something I’ve read or just an image that I think of that would make an interesting shot in a film.  A lot of my films have grown out of the idea of a single image.  Then I think about where that image might come from and the story around it starts to show itself. I find it difficult to sit down and just come up with an idea but the moment I stop thinking about it something will appear.

How do you look at reinventing yourself or work on reflecting progression in your work?

I do try to  do things differently with everything I make. Whether it be a technical challenge or exploring an idea that I haven’t  explored before. It’s always good to push it a bit and find out what works well and what doesn’t. Right now I’m working on a new film that we are writing as we shoot. There is an outline for the story but the scenes are being devised with the actors and written on the fly. So far it’s been a lot of fun.

Can you describe the creative process behind the work and how it works for you?

The story in Drowning came out of a much larger story that I had written as a feature film script. I reworked a small part of the story to make it into a self contained short an explore the characters a bit more. I am developing the feature film now with my producer Annmaree Bell.

How would you like yourself or your work to be known? 

I just hope that people enjoy the films most of all.

Many thanks Craig and best wishes from GFEST team.

For more information on GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 please contact: Subodh Rathod, Wise Thoughts / GFEST – Gaywise FESTival
Tel: 020 8889 9555
info@wisethoughts.org
http://www.wisethoughts.org / http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk

