Share/BookmarkBritish BlogsSeed Newsvine

Filmmaker Joe Morris’s film  ‘Junk’ is selected to be screened at GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 Film Screenings. GFEST 2011 Short Film Screenings will take place at Prince Charles Cinema, 7 Leicester Place, London WC2H 7BY on Tues 8 / Wed 9 / Thus 10 Nov at 7.15 pm / Box Office: 020 74943654 /  Online: http://princecharlescinema.com

For GFEST 2011 film programme info please visit:  http://gaywisefestival.org.uk/filmscreening.php

We contacted Joe to find out more about the film and the process:

A still from Junk

How do you see your own film work? 

As an attempt to discuss social realist issues.
How would you describe your own practice? 
I’m a filmmaker
Are there any external factors that help you creatively?
I think I probably draw most of my creative help from my political activity; my engagement with social issues and my experience as a working class gay man.
What are the most important themes and elements that feed into your creativity?
Internal conflict as a consequence of cultural, political social or economic conditions. Many people live in a world of sadness and isolation and I think those themes and ideas feed my creativity a great deal.
Can you describe the creative process behind the work and how it works for you?
It’s a pretty bog-standard film making process. Script. Casting. Shooting. Editing.
How would you like yourself or your work to be known? 
I don’t know where I’ll be in 10 or 20 years time. My career is just beginning so I think it’s a bit premature to be thinking of those things or to assume I have a right to think about those things. I would consider myself a political filmmaker though and I hope to carry on making politically motivated films.
Any single wish?
For Andrea Arnold to love me.

Many thanks Joe and best wishes from GFEST team.

For more information on GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 please contact: Subodh Rathod, Wise Thoughts / GFEST – Gaywise FESTival
Tel: 020 8889 9555
info@wisethoughts.org
http://www.wisethoughts.org / http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk

