London Gay Arts Festival 2011 Artist Interview: Francesca Alaimo


Share/BookmarkBritish BlogsSeed Newsvine

Francesca Alaimo will present her artwork ‘The Green Room’  at GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 visual arts exhibition. 

GFEST is recognised as London’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgerder and Queer (LGBTQ) arts festival for all. More about GFEST events, film & performances on: http://gaywisefestival.org.uk/

GFEST 2011 Visual Arts Exhibition will take place at Dreamspace Gallery , 1-3 Dufferin Street, London, EC1Y 8NA (press buzzer to enter) during Mon 7 Nov to Sat 19 Nov 9am to 5:30pm, Sat: 10am to 5pm (Sunday Closed) ENTRY FREE

A brief chat with Francesca Alaimo:

The Green Room

How do you see your own artwork?

My artwork is a vehicle through which I can experiment with my own image and explore my identity. It is very much the result of the conflict between what it is ‘to be’ and what it is ‘to appear’; between discernment, illusion and authenticity.

How would you describe your own practice?

In my work I challenge the assumption of a binary sexual category system, engaging and encouraging the subversion of the expected.

Are there any external factors that help you creatively?

Conversing with friends on creative subjects is something I find very inspiring.

How do you look at reinventing yourself or reflect progression in your work?

I am looking to include others in my exploring of gender identity themes intertwined with the experience of exile.

What are the most important themes and elements that feed into your creativity?

Currently, I am inspired by questions that concern gender identity. Important elements are also my experience of exile, classical references to my Italian childhood and the Baroque game of dark and light, hiding and revealing…

Can you describe the creative process behind your work and how it works for you?

I work a lot on my own image, a sort of “identity diary”. I produce many shots and select the more significant.

 How would you like yourself or your work to be known?

I’d like my work to inspire people to question accepted truths about gender.

Any single wish?

That people who view my work feel motivated to challenging traditional notions of gender identity in everyday life.

Thank you Francesca and best wishes from GFEST Team.

GFEST 2011 showreel video:

For more information on GFEST – Gaywise FESTival 2011 please contact: Subodh Rathod, Wise Thoughts / GFEST – Gaywise FESTival
Tel: 020 8889 9555
info@wisethoughts.org
http://www.wisethoughts.org / http://www.gaywisefestival.org.uk

About GFEST

GFEST - Gaywise FESTival blog offers news updates of the premier LGBT, queer annual cross-arts festival in London - a platform for LGBT arts
This entry was posted in 17705329, GFEST, GFEST 2010, GFEST 2011, LGBT Arts for all, NK and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

